Certified by the United States Economic Development Administration and the State of Montana as a Certified Regional Development Corporation, Great Northern Development Corporation (GNDC) services a six county region of Northeast Montana: Valley, Daniels, Sheridan, Roosevelt, Garfield, and McCone.

Great Northern Development Corporation is designated by the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) as an Economic Development District (EDD) for the counties of Sheridan, Daniels, Roosevelt, Valley, McCone & Garfield.  The Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) is a guiding document, used to track economic development needs in the GNDC region.  The CEDS is required for projects in the GNDC to qualify for EDA assistance.  GNDC is responsible for completing a new CEDS every five years, and providing assistance to communities seeking EDA investment in infrastructure, technical assistance, and planning projects consistent with the GNDC regional CEDS.

GNDC Comprehensive Economic
Development Strategy 2017-2022

      US Economic Development Administration USDA Rural Development
      • Rural Business Enterprise Grant
      • Intermediary Relending Program
      • Rural Microentrepreneur Assistance Program
      US Environmental Protection Agency
      • EPA Brownfields Program Region 8
      US Department of Treasury
      • Community Development Financial Institution
      MT Department of Commerce
      • MT Small Business Development Center
      • Community Development Block Grant
      • CDBG Revolving Loan Fund
      • Big Sky Trust Fund
      • Treasure State Endowment Program
      • Montana Business Expansion & Retention
      MT Department of Commerce
      • MicroBusiness Finance Program
      • Public Facilities
      MT Board of Housing
      • HOME Program
      MT Department of Labor
      • Incumbant Worker Training
      MT Department of Transportation
      • Transportation Alternative Program
      MT Department of Natural Resources & Conservation
      • Reclamation & Development Planning
      MT Department of Environmental Quality MT Board of Investments
      The Great Northern Development Corporation Board of Directors is composed of a minimum of fifteen (15) Directors: two (2) representing each of the 6 Counties, one (1) representing each City, five (5) representing the Tribal Government and the Native American population, and one (1) representing each of the Local Development Corporations. The Board members appointed by the members they are to represent.
      FY 21 GNDC Members
      Counties: Daniels, McCone, Sheridan, Roosevelt, Garfield and Valley
      Cities & Towns: Glasgow, Wolf Point, Scobey, Plentywood, Culbertson, Circle and Jordan

      FY 21 Executive Board
      President: Frank French, Sheridan County
      Past President: Duane Kurokawa, Roosevelt County
      1st Vice President: Jim Moos, McCone County
      2nd Vice President: Sonya Southland, City of Scobey
      Secretary/Treasurer: Robert Kompel, City of Glasgow

      FY 21 General Board
      Jerry Collins, Valley County
      Mike Downs, Garfield County
      Gary Macdonald, Roosevelt County
      Chris Dschaak, City of Wolf Point
      Gary Linder, Daniels County
      Doug Smith, Sheridan County
      Richard Rice, Plentywood
      Alex Smith, Fort Peck Tribes
      Rodney Miller, Fort Peck Tribes
      Maureen Dionne, Fort Peck Tribes
      Haven Gourneau, Fort Peck Community College
      Vacant- Town of Culbertson
      Vacant - McCone County Community Member
      Vacant - Town of Circle
      Vacant - Town of Jordan
      Vacant - Daniels County Community Member

      FY 2021 Quarterly Board Meeting Minutes
      July 30, 2020 
      October 29, 2020
      January 28, 2021 
      April 29, 2021